June 19, 2013

I recently heard a phrase that has stuck with me somewhat, “the days are long but the years are short.”  I thought of it again this morning as I headed out into the Highlands and realized that Summer begins this Friday at 5:04 a.m.  It seems to me like it was April just last week.

The Stream.

The Stream.

I threw my gear in the truck and headed to a “local” stream that got a good rain the day before. I was a little disappointed to see a car parked in my spot which is well up off of the main road. Oh well, what can you do?

Lil' native.

Lil’ native.

The first pool I stopped at produced a little brook trout on a black ant almost immediately. Seeing as the hole was spooked I hiked on upstream. I settled into my next spot which involved some crawling to remain undetected. Hearing a noise behind me I wheeled around to find two employees of the National Aviary in Pittsburgh. It turns out I was about to fish a pool directly adjacent to a Louisiana Waterthrush nest. Then one of the birders sloshed right through the pool to show me the nest, which was burrowed into the stream bank. They then asked if I could wait a few minutes so they could record some info. For what it’s worth I really do enjoy birds, however, I just smiled and said it was nice to have met them and moved on.

Perfect little chute.

Perfect little chute.

Moving on proved beneficial and I got into a few more fish before heading back to my truck. I was back in the city by 1:00 p.m.

Quick pic and then back into the pool.

Quick pic and then back into the pool.

Thanks for reading.

6 thoughts on “June 19, 2013

  1. The Highlands have been my saving grace from the concrete jungle on numerous occasions. I’m thinking about glass for these small streams.

    • Hi Beer. If you ever want to go pool hopping out that way just let me know. I actually tried to go to another stream that is all posted. I thought I could get up into the headwaters through a state park but the access road I picked was marked private. Fiberglass rods are perfect out there. I like 3wt from 6’6″ to 7″. They flex nicely on short casts and don’t smack overhanging rhodo.

      • When you’re 4 years old, a calendar year is a full quarter of your life, 25% of your sum total experience.

        When you’re 40, its only a tenth as much to you, and every year continues to pass by quicker, because in the overall amount of time you’ve had, it simply means less, drops in the rain.

        And that’s why the older you get, the quicker the years go by. Until you’re dead, at which point this is all pretty moot.

  2. Beautiful stream and fish,

    Even though I have experiences here in Alaska that rival any thing I dreamed as a kid, I miss those brook trout runs of North Central PA. If you ever want to see where I’m at you can just Google fishing with Ard Stetts. I’ll book mark your site and stop by now & then. I saw your comment on the fly picture I posted on PA fly fish forum and found my way here. This looks like a nice site you’ve built up. Mine has a blog with recent entries so maybe leave word that you’ve been there if you get the chance.

    Ard

    • I just checked out your site Ardy and wow. I want to visit AK more than ever. Just beautiful pictures. The grayling on your homepage is stunning. Thanks for checking out my humble site. Hopefully 2014 will provide some more opportunities to get out and fish. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

