Brachycentrus americanus

A few pictures from a quick hitter central Pennsylvania trip for the grannom emergence.

Beautiful morning on my favorite river.

Beautiful morning on my favorite river.

Waves of caddis fly upstream all day. So thick that I pulled my hood up over my head for awhile to keep them out of my shirt.

It looks like a little toy but that is an 8' rod.

It looks like a little toy but that is an 8′ rod.

Bigger water is nice because it allows for longer casts. Pick a spot and you can cast to risers in all directions. It gives you a chance to test out your limits…of which I have many.

IMG_1696 (1280x963)

With so many aquatic insects in the water I always check my waders and boots when I finish fishing for the day.

Hitchhiker.

Hitchhiker.

A few seasons ago I bought a furled leader for fishing dry flies. A buddy of mine uses one so I decided to give it a go. It does make my loops look great, turns flies over effortlessly, and I say that with modesty. The only downside that I noticed was that the leader seemed a little more wind resistant and it would “stick” a bit in the current at the end of my drift making it harder to lift. I’m going to keep using it for the year and see how I like it.

"Is that a furled leader!?"

“Is that a furled leader!?”

An added bonus of road tripping to central PA is that I get to drive past Clem’s. Everyone has their favorites but this is the best BBQ that I’ve had. Plus my wife loves it so it makes it easier to tell her (read ask her) that I’m going fishing and “I’ll stop at Clem’s on the way home, whaddya want.”

Do yourself a favor try it.

Do yourself a favor try it.

Thanks for checking me out.

 

One thought on “Brachycentrus americanus

Leave a Reply

